WaiBOP United 0-2 Auckland City

ASB Youth League - Rd 11

WaiBOP United 0-2 Auckland City

The 2015 ASB Youth League drew to close over the weekend with the Loaded WaiBOP United youth team losing 2-0 in their final ever game against Auckland City.

With everyone fighting for second place, it was former champions Auckland City who claimed the runner-up place two points behind Team Wellington after their win at FMG Stadium Waikato in Hamilton.

After a scoreless first half, second period goals to Myer Bevan and Nicolas Zambrano sealed the result as Jose Figueira’s side finished the season on a five-game unbeaten run – winning their final four matches.

Wide men Dylan Bull and Bailey Webster were the most lively for WaiBOP, while the back four contained the lively City attackers for most of the afternoon.

City’s win, along with victories for Waitakere United and Southern United, meant those three sides finished in the top four. Team Wellington won the league last weekend while we ended up in sixth in one of the tightest campaigns of recent seasons.

WaiBOP line-up: Neil Achary; Jono Viviani, Jackson Houlihan (James Davies 88′), Robert Parekowhai-Gudex, Corey Mitchell; Bailey Webster, Liam Hayes (Paul Clout 76′), Blair Bates, Jamie Woodlock (Jacob Mechell 65′), Dylan Bull; Jacob Robb (Quinton Kipara 56′). Sub (not used): Raheem Hunter-Ali.

Click here for the final ASB Youth League table.

Leave a Reply